What we're REALLY up to

Tuesday

Back to School Night at #1’s school always feels rather cultish. I love the school, I think it is a wonderful little place and all of that, but there is a lot of rah-rah. It was toned down this year because there were less people. Last year we had a room full all going around introducing themselves: “My name is X. My child’s name is Y and s/he loves this school.” It felt very, “My name is Joe and I know this church is true.” Testimony. Preach it.

Anyway, #2 was in bed at 6pm thanks to his refusal to take much in the way of naps at day care. As if he needed LESS reasons to sleep. And to think I pay for the privilege of an overtired child. Why do I work again?

Oh right, to be there for other people’s children. Of course.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

